Google, We Have a Failure

I’ve been reading about the new Google Android phone, a.k.a. the T-Mobile G1, with great interest all day today. I’ve been itchin’ to upgrade my Crackberry Pearl to an iPhone, but I first wanted to see how this new baby compared. There’s a lot to like about it. There’s also a lot I don’t like about it, not the least of which is that it’s ugly (hello, Amazon Kindle?) and has a chunky form factor.

But then I read that it doesn’t have a headphone jack.

Um, earth to Google, T-Mobile, and HTC (the manufacturer): that’s a fail.

One of the things I like about the Android is that it nicely integrates Amazon’s DRM-free MP3 download store, which I vastly prefer to iTunes. It also nicely integrates YouTube, which I confess I’ve been using with increasing frequency. Unfortunately, if you want to hear the audio from these or any other sources, you have three horrible options:

1. Listen through the phone’s speaker. That’s not even a realistic option, of course.

2. Connect a bulky $10-$20 external adapter between the USB port and your headphones. It might look as cool as and be as nice to have in your pocket as this:

3. Buy some sure-to-be-massively-overpriced headphones that connect directly to the USB port.

I look forward to v2.0, but for now I think I’m gonna get me an iPhone.

One response to “Google, We Have a Failure

  1. Other (good) thoughts on the subject: http://www.popularmechanics.com/technology/reviews/4284532.html

    I think it will be a few years before a music (or video) player and a phone are effectively combined, and a few after that before I’m willing to pay a premium for the combination. (Exactly why do I need that?)

    But perhaps I’m just a cheap son of a bitch.

    Actually, I am.

Leave a Reply

